Caps vs. Pens Game 2 Thoughts

Ovie Hat Trick

  • Been almost 24 hours since the end of game 2 so here are my thoughts having been there…
  • Wow…I can’t believe we were there!
  • Even the national commentators are saying today that it was one of the most exciting games in recent history and that the noise level was unlike anything they have ever heard.
  • At arenas they blare music out of the speakers and you couldn’t even hear them from the time Ovie got his hat trick with about 5 minutes left until the end of the game.
  • My head still is ringing.
  • And oh yeah my throat is still raw from all the yelling.
  • I was making calls on the drive down and Andy missed our exit for the metro even though he was using GPS…it took us to the wrong place and I really thought we were going to miss the beginning of the game because we kept going in circles even though we were following the signs to the metro.
  • The 40 minute metro ride was interesting because some already (at least I think they were) drunk Pens fans were in our car…naaa on second thought they were just the usual obnoxious Pens fans.  🙂
  • As soon as we got off the metro at the Verizon Center you could tell it was different than the game we went to in February.
  • There was a definite buzz in the air.
  • Unlike February’s seats which were a few rows from the ice, this time we were only 3 rows from the top.
  • Still…we were there…even if there were another dozen or so obnoxious Pens fans around us.
  • Seriously people…there are more words in the dictionary than ones that begin with the letter “F”.
  • Got to be honest…I was nervous most of the game…the Caps weren’t really playing all that great.
  • I kept up-dating my Facebook and Twitter accounts which made for some fun interaction with some of you who were home watching on TV.
  • Towards the end of the 2nd Period I got a text from Curtis Bryan who attends United saying he was at the game as well…how cool is that…the wonders of modern technology.
  • The picture above is literally seconds after Ovechkin’s 3rd goal. 
  • Already that many hats had made it onto the ice and there were plenty more to come.
  • What was funny was after they almost had them all cleaned up, a bunch more came down.
  • Found out today that Sidney “Whiner ” Crosby complained.
  • As much as i dislike him, I told Andy on the way home that by the time it’s all said and done, he and Ovie will probably be in the top 20 players to ever play and we can say we were there the night they both had hat tricks in the play-offs.
  • When the game was over, the party just spilled into the streets.
  • We walked up to the next metro stop to try to avoid the crowds and blocks away the car horns and yelling were still going on.
  • Even in Frederick when we stopped to eat on the way home we were asked about the game because a guy saw we had our Caps gear on and wanted to know what it was like.
  • Today I was in Chambersburg at the Sheetz near Target and I saw a guy as I was pulling out with a Caps jersey on. 
  • I hit the car horn…Beeep, Beeep, beep, beep, beep.
  • He looked…spotted the car that had beeped and yelled to me…
  • LET’S GO CAPS!
  • Tomorrow I’ll give some spiritual insights that I gleaned from the game.
  • In the meantime…Beeep, Beeep, beep, beep, beep.
  • Comments
    One Response to “Caps vs. Pens Game 2 Thoughts”
    Trackbacks
    Check out what others are saying...
    1. […] As I promised the other day in this blog, I got a lot more out of Monday’s night’s hockey game than just a good time.  […]



    Leave a comment

    • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

      Join 335 other subscribers